Katy girl wrestlers capture Invitational Championship

Katy Tigers picking up where they left off last year

 The 10th Annual Cinco Ranch Big 12 Invitational was held Saturday, Nov. 19 at Cinco Ranch High School. The schools sending teams include boys and girls wrestlers from Cinco Ranch, Seven Lakes; Cy-Woods, Katy, A&M Consolidated, and Westside. St. Johns, Episcopal, Brother Martin entered boys’ teams only; Mayde Creek sent a girls team only.

The boys’ team from Brother Martin from New Orleans came out on top with a score of 272.5. Cinco Ranch was second, 160.5; Katy, third, 160; and Seven Lakes 99.

On the girls side, Katy came in on top with a score of 92. At numbers two through four were Mayde Creek, 68; Seven Lakes 68; and Cinco Ranch 57.

Katy girls and boys wrestlers are the projected athletes to pin this year. The Tigers dominance precedes them. Six times the girls have been district champions; seven times region champions; and three times state runner up.

Three times the boys have been district champions and region champions twice. Individually the Tigers have accumulated 16 individual state champions. “We have at least one state place winner in every year since the UIL sanctioned the sport for the 1998-1999 season,” said coach Vinnie Lowe.

In the 2016-2017 season the Lady Tigers were District 11-6A runner up; Region III-6A runner up; and UIL State sixth place.

Returning this year are juniors Mhina Oseitutu (5th at State in 2016); Zahra Metzgar (State qualifier in 2016); and Selah Benignus (State alternate 2016); and seniors Paula Nugent and Emma Farley.

“Keep an eye on junior Megan Thomas,” said Coach Lowe. “Last year she had double digit wins as a backup to Pike. Others to watch are Kiara Ortega, Marissa Guajardo and Sam Lucia.”

The boys were the 2016-2017 District 11-6A champions; Region III-6A champions; UIL 6A State fourth place; and two individual State champions.

Returning this year are seniors Dylan Moody, Daniel Briones, David Kempton, Payton Grant, Jacob Nino, Michael Dodgen, William DiNisco, Jahzion Marshall, Teddy Rockley, Adrian Calvo and John Moreno.

Key returners include Daniel Manibog (UIL State Champion, 2016); Tyler Silman (Sixth in Region III); Dylan Moody, Brandon Diaz, Ty Wright, Michael Dodgen and Teddy Rockley.