Katy ISD Announces 2018-2019 Volunteers of the Year

(Katy, Texas) – Katy ISD’s Volunteers in Public Schools initiative hosted its annual Volunteer Celebration breakfast on May 17th honoring the thousands of school district volunteers who donate their time supporting Katy ISD students and teachers.   This school year volunteers across the district donated more than 847,142 hours which, in human resource terms, equates to 604 additional teachers or nine additional teachers at every campus.

Over 800 volunteers attended the celebration to hear this year’s keynote speaker, Aidan Anderson, co-founder of his charity, Aidan Cares, an organization that promotes the joy and necessity of giving to people.  District-wide entertainment was provided by McMeans Junior High, Tays Junior High and Paetow High School Theater as well as Taylor High School Theater and Choir.  The Katy High School Bengal Brigade and Cheerleaders served as greeters.

At the Volunteer Celebration, Katy ISD announced each campus Volunteer of the Year.   They include: Alexander Elementary: Charlotte Shutt; Bear Creek Elementary: Taylor Perez; Bethke Elementary: Kalee Harper; Bryant Elementary: Kathalyn Garza; Campbell Elementary: Lucy Madero; Cimarron Elementary: Anita Gelowitz; Creech Elementary: Leslie Cernosek; Davidson Elementary: Virginia Beeson; Exley Elementary: Jennifer Young; Fielder Elementary: Victor Alvarado; Franz Elementary: Vanessa Williams; Golbow Elementary: Kathryn Perry; Griffin Elementary: Allison Lindberg; Hayes Elementary: Trazanna Moreno; Holland Elementary: JoLynn Meier; Hutsell Elementary: Dawn Woytek; Jenks Elementary: Miriam Daboub; Katy Elementary: Stephanie Richter; Kilpatrick Elementary: Lian Blake; Mayde Creek Elementary: Kelsey Judd; McRoberts Elementary: Ruby Martinez Ilagan; Memorial Parkway Elementary: Yvonne Debus; Morton Ranch Elementary: Cornelia Elrod; Nottingham Country Elementary: Jim Troutman; Pattison Elementary: Iratxe Barcenilla Larrinaga; Randolph Elementary: Kim Brown; Rhoads Elementary: Kimberly Lord; Rylander Elementary: Devon Hulyk; Schmalz Elementary: Tamela Adams; Shafer Elementary: Brittany Dyal; Stanley Elementary: Amanda Boyle; Stephens Elementary: Christine Peña; Sundown Elementary: April Eldridge; West Memorial Elementary: Jayna Balcer; Williams Elementary: Sara McKenzie; Wilson Elementary: Carly Ferchuk; Winborn Elementary: Holly Painter; Wolfe Elementary: Barbara Havlik; Wolman Elementary: Sheila Adams; WoodCreek Elementary: Mindy Pitcock; Beck Junior High: Maryellen Hager; Beckendorff Junior High: Jenny Kumar; Cardiff Junior High: Jennifer Valencia; Cinco Ranch Junior High: Dena Pyne; Katy Junior High: Laura Stukenborg; Mayde Creek Junior High: Sue Roberts; McDonald Junior High: Besima Baltic; McMeans Junior High: Allason James; Memorial Parkway Junior High: Kristen Allen; Morton Ranch Junior High: Michelle Duty; Seven Lakes Junior High: Angela Kunkel; Stockdick Junior High: Ruben Jimenez; Tays Junior High: Chris Green; West Memorial Junior High: Ann Perez; WoodCreek Junior High: Anitra Ondrush; Cinco Ranch High School: Anna Marsh; Katy High School: Kelly Goerig; Mayde Creek High School: Emma Boutwell; Morton Ranch High School: Katrina Williams; Paetow High School: Tawnya Morse; Seven Lakes High School: Santiago Molina; Taylor High School: Sharon Mitchell; Tompkins High School: Linda Lummus

Volunteers in Public Schools, a Katy ISD Partners in Education program, offers moms, dads, family and community members a wide variety of volunteer opportunities at their chosen campus.  To learn more, visit Partners in Education under the “Community” tab at www.katyisd.org or contact your campus Volunteer Coordinator.