Council Members Sworn into Office

CITY OF KATY (Covering Katy News)—Chris Harris, Janet Corte, and Durran Dowdle were sworn into office Monday night at the Katy City Council meeting.

Harris defeated former Council Member Larry Gore for the at-large seat, which was vacated by incumbent Steve Pierson under term limits. Corte defeated incumbent Ray Boothe for her Ward A seat.

Dowdle won re-election against challenger Sam Pearson for his Ward B seat.

Harris and Corte are beginning their first terms on the council. Dowdle, meanwhile, was sworn into his third and final term under term limits.

Municipal Judge Jeffrey Brashear performed the swearing-ins after the votes in those races were officially canvassed and declared official. Votes on the three bond propositions, all of which were approved by voters, were also officially canvassed and declared official.

Mayor Chuck Brawner renominated, and the council confirmed, Dowdle as mayor pro tem. In this role, Dowdle presides in the mayor’s absence.

In other action, the council:

  • Issued a proclamation recognizing May 2018 as Older Americans Month and recognizing Pat Gorman as the 2018 Senior Citizen of the Year.
  • Issued “Above and Beyond” citations to Katy police officers Dustin Garcia and Matthew Newport. The officers performed CPR on an unconscious driver and have been credited with saving her life.

Keep Katy Beautiful recognized The Cottage Door Boutique with the Proud Business Award. From left are: Albert Thompson Jr., Jacalyn Warner, Sandy Schmidt, Carrie Singletary, Mayor Chuck Brawner, Shae Walker, Dr. Allen Walker, Angela Walker, Garrett Walker, Emma Walker, Rachel Walker, Jess Washburn, Jamie Wolman and Kay Callender – City of Katy photo

  • Watched a Keep Katy Beautiful presentation of the Katy Proud Business Award to Angela Walker, of The Cottage Door, 1001 Avenue B.
  • Amended the zoning ordinance to permit the location of a HUD-code manufactured home within a municipal utility district for a 12-month period. The home is required as part of the development of the Village of Katy, a new 84-acre commercial development district.
  • Amended the zoning ordinance to allow the renewal of a special use permit at 541 Pin Oak Rd. This permit was twice approved for one-year periods in the past. The council’s approval Monday was for a five-year period.
  • Reviewed the FY 2017-18 second quarter investment report, bank statement, and check register through March 31.
  • Approved appurtenances, paving, sanitary sewer, storm sewer, and water improvements for Young Ranch.
  • Approved a final plat for the Reserve at Katy Reserve in Fort Bend County.
  • Approved a final plat for the Katy Boardwalk in Fort Bend and Harris Counties.
  • Approved final plats for three detention ponds for Cane Island in Waller County.
  • Authorized Brawner to sign an interlocal cooperation agreement with Fort Bend County Tax Office for collection of taxes in Fort Bend and Waller counties.
  • Authorizing the issuance of $1,360,000 in tax bonds by the Fort Bend County Municipal Utility District Number 2.
  • Authorized the issuance of $3,190,000 in tax bonds by the Harris-Waller County Municipal Utility District Number 2.
  • Authorized Brawner to sign a memorandum of understanding with the Greater Harris County 911 and Fulshear Volunteer Fire Department.
  • Amended the list of authorized city representatives for the Texas Local Government Investment Pool (TexPool/Texpool Prime) to include City Staff Accountant Kelli Preston.
  • Renamed the carrier Katy Heritage Museum to honor the late former mayor and city administrator Johnny Nelson. The museum will now be called the Johnny Nelson Katy Heritage Museum. The museum was damaged by floodwaters from Hurricane Harvey but has undergone restoration. The city will dedicate the museum at 10 a.m. Thursday, May 24.
  • Passed an ordinance to change the job description of the emergency management coordinator.
  • Passed an ordinance to permit the sale of alcoholic beverages near a church or school to Crown Pizza, 6191 Highway Blvd.
  • Appointed Eric Paulsen to the both the Katy Development Authority and the Reinvestment Zone, Number One position. He succeeds Harris, who resigned upon his election to the council.