New Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Cypress

Harvey Recovery Meeting

New Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Cypress

FEMA has opened a Disaster Recovery Center at the Richard and Meg Weekley Community Center. The Disaster Recovery Center is in the parking lot of the Community Center.

8440 Greenhouse Rd, Cypress, TX 77433 

Open 7am- 7pm daily

Extra Day to Apply for Disaster SNAP Benefits

On Friday, October 6th, the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston will be open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. The address is 1001 Avenida de las Americas, Houston, Texas.

The extra day is being added due to longer than expected lines at the current D-SNAP sites and to ensure that those who are eligible have enough opportunity to apply.  The additional site and extra day was determined in consultation with local officials about how to best serve the people of Harris County. This larger site has more indoor capacity to better accommodate the expected volume and needs of those applying for benefits.

All other Harris County sites will close at 7 p.m. Thursday, as previously announced, and Texas HHS staff will shift to the George R. Brown Convention Center. While D-SNAP typically is offered for up to seven days in a community, Texas will have offered D-SNAP in Harris County for a total of 15 days when the program closes Friday at 7 p.m.

The Harris County Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management invites residents affected by Hurricane Harvey to a recovery fair at the Harris County Precinct 2 North East Community Center.

WHAT:                   Hurricane Harvey Recovery Fair

WHEN:                   Saturday, October 7, 2017

9 a.m. – 4 p.m.

WHERE:                 North East Community Center (at James Driver Park)

10918 Bentley, Houston, Texas 77093

The Harvey Recovery Fair will provide important recovery information about available disaster assistance from both governmental and non-profit organizations. Representatives from Harris County, the City of Houston, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Small Business Administration (SBA) and other volunteer agencies will be available to answer questions and help residents apply for disaster assistance. Free MRE’s (Meals Ready to Eat) available for residents attending.

Participating Organizations:

  1. Harris County Judge Ed Emmett
  • Harris County Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Management
  1. Harris County Office of Commissioner Jack Morman
  • Harris County Community Services Department
  1. Harris County Engineering Department
  • Harris County Flood Control District
  1. Harris County Public Library
  • Harris County Public Health Services
  • Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD
  1. City of Houston 311
  2. City of Houston Solid Waste Department
  3. City of Houston Public Works and Engineering
  4. Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA)
  5. Small Business Administration (SBA)
  6. U.S. Administration of Children and Families – Immediate Disaster Case Management
  7. American Red Cross
  8. United Way of Greater Houston
  9. Lone Star Legal Aid
  10. Texas Gulf Coast VOAD
  11. Billy Graham Ministries Rapid Response Team
  12. Workforce Solutions

Additional recovery fairs will be held in the coming weeks to assist residents that live in other areas of Harris County.

Faith-based organizations, in addition to other community, volunteer, and nonprofit organizations may apply for FEMA grants to help them get back to the business of helping others.

Community, volunteer, faith-based, and private nonprofit organizations conducting critical and essential services of a governmental nature that sustained disaster damage may be able to receive FEMA Public Assistance (PA) grants to repair or replace their facilities so they can continue offering critical and essential community services.

Types of organizations which provide critical services that may qualify for FEMA PA grants include:

  • Private schools that provide elementary or secondary education or an institution of higher education;
  • Hospitals and other medical-treatment facilities; and
  • Utilities including water, sewer, and electrical systems.

Types of non-critical, essential services that may be eligible for Public Assistance grants include:

  • Senior citizen and community centers or other community services;
  • Food programs;
  • Educational enrichment activities;
  • Custodial and day care services;
  • Disability residential services;
  • Assisted living and low-income housing;
  • Homeless shelters and rehabilitation services; and
  • Performing and community arts centers.

Only organizations with state or IRS tax-exempt status may be considered.  For more information about eligible essential and critical service providers, go online to and reference the Public Assistance Program and Policy Guide.

The first step to receive a FEMA PA grant for your faith-based, community, volunteer or other private nonprofit organization is to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) to the state, tribe, or territory within the deadline, typically 30 days after designation of the area but it may be extended.  Information on the RPA deadline is updated on state, tribe or territory emergency management websites. Faith-based organizations should contact their state, local, tribal, or territorial emergency management office for more information.

For more information, call  800-621-3362 or visit

God bless Texas!

Mike Schofield

State Representative

House District 132

Katy & Cypress