Soccer players earn Honors KISD District 19-6A Soccer Athletes Earned Nine All-State Awards, Several Regional Awards, and Two Regional Coaching Honors

by Tom Behrens

Region and State …

Tompkins and Cinco Ranch girls produced seven of the honorees. The Cougars had three First-Team players in senior defender Lilly Bravenec, senior mid-fielder Shaylee Anaya and sophomore forward Ali Russell.
Senior midfielder Mary Brodeur took all Region III-6A first team honors for the Cougars.
Tompkins was led by First Team selection Cailey Croson. Senior midfielder, JoAnnie Ramos amassed 14 goals and seven assists. Barbara Olivieri made the All-State Second Team as a freshman. She had 18 goals and nine assists. Junior midfielder Kayla Ruopp received honorable mention All-State.
Seven Lakes was led by senior forward Morgan Proffitt, First Team All-Region; junior midfielder Sydni Dusek, Region III-6A received Honorable Mention.
For the boys, Seven Lakes listed two All-State selections; in junior defender, Anthony Romano and junior forward, Raul Ekmeiro, both received Honorable Mentions. Junior Felipe Latorre, First Team All Region defender and Fabio Montanari, second team All Region midfielder.
Cinco Ranch had three all-region selections in junior forward Michael Gusman who made the Region III-6A First Team. Dawson Palomar and senior midfielder Nick Coburn were voted to the Second Team.
Tompkins had two Honorable Mention All Region players in sophomore forward Jovan Prado and freshman midfielder Daniel Espinoza.
Tompkins girls head coach, Jarrett Shipman was voted III-6A Coach of the Year, while Seven Lakes boys assistant David Crockett earned III-6A Assistant Coach of the Year.

At the District level…Girls

Cinco Ranch … Ali Russell, MVP; Lilly Bravenec, Defensive MVP; Fredy Sanguinetti Coach of the Year. Anaya Brodeur, Katie Becker, Olivia Futch, Kendall Hollo and MaKayla Wang were All-District first team picks.
Tompkins … Cailey Croson, MVP goalkeeper and Barbara Olivieri, offensive MVP. JoAnnie Ramos, Kayla Ruopp, Katy Reid, Leanne Veary and Elena Wolf made the District First Team.
Seven Lakes … Sydni Dusek, Morgan Proffitt, Julia Marotta and Veronica Romero were First Team selections.
Taylor …Ellie Cardner, Newcomer of the Year; Ally Brittain, Camille Day, and Shelby Wilkins were First Team selections.
Katy …Landri Edwards and Bella Tablante were First Team selections for the Tigers.
Morton Ranch …Shenta Knox, First Team
Mayde Creek … Priscilla Trevino, First Team

At the District level … boys

Cinco Ranch’s Guzman earned a share of the MVP. First Team included Dawson Palomar, Nic Fielden and Klaus Schoelman.
Seven Lakes … Senior German Unzner, Defensive MVP; Anthony Romano, Raul Ekneiro and Fabio Montanari were First Team selections.
Morton Ranch … Joseph Paredes and Michael Ewobar, First Team
Tompkins … Jovan Prado, Daniel Espinosa and Joseph Schmidt, First Team
Mayde Creek … Eid Yousef, Jerry Bohi and Eduardo Quevedo, First Team
Katy … Nicholas Diaz, Rey Borjas and Josue Ruiz, First Team