Commissioner Ryan Sitton Participates in Town Hall Discussing Fort Bend Oil Well Blowout

AUSTIN – Texas Railroad Commissioner Ryan Sitton participated in a town hall hosted yesterday by Sen. Borris Miles and Rep. Ron Reynolds to provide updates and answer questions regarding an oil well blowout that occurred in Fort Bend County on Dec. 6, 2017. While drilling the well, IWR Operating encountered a gas pocket and experienced a blowout, causing a release of 3,300 barrels of crude oil in a 500-foot radius on the drilling pad site. […]

Cinco Ranch Branch Library’s “Ancient Empires” Series Focuses On Rome In March  

Fort Bend County Libraries’ Cinco Ranch Branch Library will have a 5-part educational series focusing on “Ancient Empires” this spring. The third program in the series, “Ancient Empires: Rome,” will take place on Saturday, March 17, from 1:00 to 3:00 p.m., in the Multi-purpose Room of the library, located at 2620 Commercial Center Blvd in Katy. In this third of five programs on Ancient Empires, former architecture professor Sheba Akhtar will talk about the Roman Republic and the […]

Chess Players Invited To Share Tips At Cinco Ranch Branch Library Event

Chess players of all ages and skill levels – from beginners to advanced – are invited to practice their strategies and share tips with others at a special “Chess Day @ the Library” on Saturday, March 17, from 10:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m., in the Conference Classroom of Fort Bend County Libraries’ Cinco Ranch Branch Library, located at 2620 Commercial Center Blvd in Katy. Learn a new chess move (or two) during this come-and-go event. Experienced players […]

Conroe High School Choir Joins The Houston Symphony In Educational Family-Friendly CONCERT  

  HOUSTON (Feb. 21, 2018) –Members of the Conroe High School Choir will join the Houston Symphony at 10 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. Saturday, March 3 in Be Our Guest, a family-friendly concert about adventure and fairytale fantasy. Associate Conductor Robert Franz leads the orchestra and choir in a program featuring the unforgettable music from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast and the adventure of Tubby the Tuba, an orchestral tale that has introduced generations of […]

Vegetable-Herb Plant Sale

Join Fort Bend County Master Gardeners on Saturday, March 10th for the annual Spring Vegetable-Herb Plant Sale. The sale will be held rain or shine behind the Fort Bend County Extension Office, 1402 Band Rd., Rosenberg TX, 77471. The sale will include Tomato, Pepper, Eggplant, Herb plants and more. All plants have been grown by Master Gardeners in our greenhouse. In addition to vegetables and herbs, there will also be additional fruit trees, berries and semi-tropical plants […]

The Salvation Army’s Annual Youth of the Year Scholarship Banquet was held February 20 The Salvation Army’s Annual Youth of the Year Scholarship Banquet was held February 20

Recipients from 2017 Youth of the Year Scholarship Program.  

Houston, TX (February 1, 2018) –The Salvation Army Boys & Girls Clubs of Metropolitan Houston is proud to announce that this year’s Youth of the Year Scholarship Awards Banquet took place Tuesday, February 20, 2018 at 6 p.m., at the Briar Club, located at 2603 Timmons Ln, Houston, TX 77027. Every year, The Salvation Army awards thousands of dollars in scholarships through this program. Since its inception, The Salvation Army has awarded over $900,000 to more than 140 participants. Last year, […]

The Allstate Foundation provides new playground for Houston-area community impacted by Hurricane Harvey

Community members volunteer their time to create a new play space for Pasadena youth HOUSTON, Feb. 19 – Nearly 80 Allstate agency owners and employees joined Gardens Elementary staff and students, KaBOOM! staff and Houston-area community members to transform an empty site into a kid-inspired, state-of-the-art playground in just six hours today. The build took place at Gardens Elementary in Pasadena, a community impacted by Hurricane Harvey in August 2017. During the community build day, […]

Kelsey-Seybold Clinic Earns National Recognition for Efforts Aimed at Reducing Heart Attacks and Strokes

Kelsey-Seybold Clinic physicians and Quality Improvement team receives Target: BP™ GOLD award from American Heart Association staff for the clinic’s commitment to prioritizing blood pressure control within the communities they serve. Kelsey-Seybold Clinic is the largest group in Houston to receive this recognition. Names (L-R): Sara Schueneman – Senior Vice President Development, Houston Gulf Coast, American Heart Association; Victor Simms, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P., Chief of Internal Medicine, Kelsey-Seybold Clinic; Patrick Carter, M.D., M.B.A., F.A.A.F.P., Medical Director for Care Coordination and Quality Improvement and Chief of Family Medicine, Kelsey-Seybold Clinic; Olethia Chisolm, M.D., Internal Medicine, Kelsey-Seybold – Meyerland Clinic;  Leon Jerrels, M.B.A., M.H.A., R.N., C.P.H.Q., Director of Quality Improvement, Kelsey-Seybold Clinic; Jometra Hawkins, Senior Community Impact Director, Houston Gulf Coast, American Heart Association; Tony Lin, M.D., F.H.M., Chairman of the Board of Managers and Managing Director, Kelsey-Seybold Clinic; Idonia Gardner, Vice President of Community Impact, Diversity and Inclusion SouthWest Affiliate, American Heart Association.

American Heart Association and American Medical Association announce inaugural list of physician practices and health systems receiving a Target: BP™ award for their commitment to prioritize blood pressure control within the communities they serve.   Houston, Texas – The American Heart Association (AHA) and American Medical Association (AMA) have announced the names of 310 physician practices and health systems nationwide being recognized for their commitment to reducing the number of Americans who have heart attacks […]

Rally To Be Released In Big Box Retailer  H-E-B in Texas will stock the recovery beverage

Houston, TX – Feb. 20, 2018. The Texas-based beverage company Rally <>, which offers a science-based, effective and functional rehydration beverage containing everything the body needs for recovery and nothing it doesn’t, will celebrate the launch of their product in H-E-B <> locations throughout Texas on Feb. 26, 2018. “We are thrilled to partner with and get on the shelves of H-E-B! This is our first major expansion into grocery and will give us one […]

Jaguar Days Allows Prospective Students To Learn About UHV

Prospective students and their families participate in the November Jaguar Day at the University of Houston-Victoria. The next Jaguar Day will be Feb. 24 at UHV.

The University of Houston-Victoria will welcome about 250 students to campus on Feb. 24 for a look into the college experience during the university’s largest Jaguar Day ever. Prospective students, including incoming freshmen, transfer and graduate students, will have the opportunity to see firsthand what UHV has to offer. It will be the second of three Jaguar Days that UHV is hosting this school year. “Jaguar Days give prospective students the opportunity to visit the […]